10, 9, 8, 7 . . .

liftoff2Yes, we are on the verge of relocating our family to begin our work in Cyprus.  May 23rd is our departure date. I mentioned this in the last post and promised an explanation.  That date is the result of a conversation I had with the Lord.  Yes, that sounds a bit bold, perhaps crazy to some who don’t talk to him often, and perhaps odd to those who don’t seek to listen for Him to respond.  Rest assured, talking to Him is good.  Hearing from Him is awesome!

I wish that I could say that when the Lord speaks, I get right to doing whatever He says to do.  Perhaps it is because I’m new to this interchange of dialogue with Him, or perhaps I just have lineage that can be traced back to the infamous Thomas apostle-guy (no proof here).  Anyway here is how this conversation went, followed by my response:

Late January

Dan: “God, I need you.  I don’t know what to do next.  I’ve talked to everyone I know to talk to.  I don’t know how we are going to get to Cyprus.  Who should I talk to next?”  (Our monthly support had been stuck around the 60% mark for a while.)

God: “May 23rd.”

Dan: “Um (thinking that I didn’t ask for a date), May 23rd?  Ok, God, if that is you talking, you are going to have to prove that.  I have an active imagination and I need you to confirm this.”

God: “Daniel, you are mine.”

Dan: “Ok.”  It was clear here that while He didn’t exactly respond how I would have thought He would, He was confirming that date.  It was as if He was saying or reminding me that I am in the palm of His hand.  If He says May 23rd, I don’t need to worry.  He has got this. And, if He has this, and I am His, I don’t need to have this all sorted out.

I wish that I could say that I got online and ordered the airline tickets right then and there.  I simply shared the conversation with Sarah and my Dad, then sat on it.  Actually, I think I buried it for the next two months.

March 9th

I get a phone call from Cyprus.

David Harder, my SAT-7 boss: “If at all possible, be here in May.  June is good, but May is ideal.  I understand you are raising support, but if it’s possible, that would be best.”

I hang up and think, “interesting, don’t know what I can do about this, but it is interesting.”  At that point, May 23rd doesn’t yet enter my thought process.  I then needed to call Commission To Every Nation, our sending agency, to talk about a few details.  I end up talking to the director, which isn’t who I usually talk to.  He asks how we are doing.  I give him the run-down.

Scott Walston, CTEN Director: “You need to set a date for departure.  Set a date and you will be there.”

Now, the dots connect.  I shared my conversation with God and David Harder with Scott Walston.  He chuckled and said, “That sounds like an affirmation to me.”  I begin to believe that the Lord actually meant something with May 23rd.

We were about to send out our newsletter and we decided to announce the date of departure as May 23rd.  Gulp! At this time, we were still hovering around 60% monthly support.  This felt like a good step of faith. Well, right about this time our house sold.  We got busy dealing with moving and the various details surrounding such a thing.  May 23rd set aside for now.  We wait on the Lord to provide while we go about the work we know to do.

April 21st

Here we now sit in Virginia.  We are now at 70% of our monthly need.  Our budget is based on a bare necessities requirement for living in Cyprus.  70% is not enough to keep us there.  Yet, we believe the Lord is waiting for us to really be obedient.  We know that the need is for us to be there in May.  We know that He has promised to provide.  We know that He has told us May 23rd.

Today, we purchased the tickets – one way tickets to Cyprus for four.  Today, we have obedience and faith.  Today,we have ingition!

7 thoughts on “10, 9, 8, 7 . . .

  1. Gosh I feel like the Reeves Family Cheerleader! I am just so excited and encouraged to see your process of faith. Love you guys and can’t wait to see you in January, right?!

  2. Hey Dan. SAT-7 is looking forward to seeing you. May 23rd sounds good to me! I remember buying our plane tickets – it felt weird… the first time I had ever bought a ONE-WAY ticket.
    If we can do anything to help please let us know.
    Regards
    Steve Williams, SAT-7, Nicosia, Cyprus.

  3. Welcome Reeves family! WAX & I look forward to meeting you again & esp. X&W are excited about getting to know your kids 🙂 We’d love to have you over for lunch or dinner on Sat 30 or Sun 31 May if you don’t already have other plans. C U soon!

  4. Pingback: “How are you?” “Um, how much time do you have?” « Journey to Cyprus

Leave a Reply

